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VNEA REFEREE FAQ’S

Is it a coaching foul if an opponent is getting coached when it’s not
his turn?

no

Is a handshake the end of a game?

yes

What is the procedure for handling unsportsmanlike conduct?
warning which will be for the whole tournament if not serious or ejection from
tournament

Is it a foul if Player A looks at his/her team and asks how many balls

are needed to win the match?

no

2. Is it a foul to shoot away from a frozen cue ball (frozen to the

shooters’ object ball) without contacting another ball of the proper
set then a rail?

yes

3. If called to a match and there is suspicion or report of invalid

players, what do you do?

Ask for sanction card then look at the score sheet for players names

4. If called to watch a small gap shot for a double hit and the player

fouls because of no rail, do you call it?

Yes you call all fouls well at the table

5. What do you do when called to a table after a shot and there is a

discrepancy?

Talk to both players to find out what happened , then try to get both players to
agree if not you must go with the shooter

6. What is the minimum number of players to start a team match?
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7. What are the time delays for a team member to play a game during
a match?

1 minute
8. Are time outs for bathroom breaks allowed?

Yes
9. Is it a foul to mark target spots, such as using a chalk on the rail, or
rubbing the chalked cue tip on cloth?
I would warn them first and let them know the next time will be a foul

10. Is it a foul to use the cue to aid in alignment and leave the cue on
the table and step back and look?
no

11. When playing an additional round for a tied match, do the
previous accumulated points count or do they play that round
starting at zero to zero?

Start at zero same line up and flip for home

12. What if a shooter interferes with a rolling cue ball after sinking
the 8 ball?
Foul loss of game

13. What if the opponent, after an accidentally moved ball incident,
picks up the ball and repositions it clearly away from where it was
in an attempt to block a pocket or otherwise create an advantage?

Have the shooter line up as he did when shooting

14. Should the referee pick up the cue ball and hand it to the
opponent when there is a foul?
Only when it is a very tight position which could cause a foul

15. Where is the best place to stand when watching close hits,
splits, or other “tight” ball situations?
Close to the situation so you can see the shot clearly

16. What do you do when the players forget who is shooting which
suit?

Ask who broke and if they made a ball on the break, did they shoot again . try to

determine that way if can’t figure it out then re-rack
2



17. What if Player A has solids then shoots stripes and Player B
doesn’t call foul, then Player A remembers and shoots a solid and
then Player B calls foul?

To late all fouls have to be called before next shot

18. Is ball contact with the VNEA patch a foul?
no

19. Are racking devices such as a “tight rack” or racking templates
allowed?
Not unless both players agree to use it and sign back of sheet

20. Are jump shot assist devices such as short support sticks or
mechanical bridges (rakes) allowed?
No devices are allowed for jump shots

21. Should referees ask players not to carry assembled cues in the
bags on their shoulders?

Yes this is a dangerous situation, you could poke someone in the eye
22. Are power chairs banned?
no

23. What is the score if 2 stripes and 3 solids are sunk on the break
shot, and on the next shot Player A calls the 5 in the side and
makes it, but knocks in the 8 ball?

10 -0

24. Can a player ask a referee about any rule during a match before
the shot is taken?

Yes but must ask for the ruling and not if he can shoot this way would that be
a foul



25. Is it a foul to “stick handle” a cue ball in hand with the cue if the
ferrule or cue tip touches the cue ball?

no
26. Can players practice during a match?
no
27. Do referees have to enforce dress code?
Yes if someone complains

28. Can you call a shot/foul that you clearly saw while nearby but
were not called to the table to watch?

only if you are called after by the player

29. On an open table, if a player calls a solid and a safety, does it
establish them as solids if they sink the ball? Do they have to shoot
again if they made their called shot?

Yes they are now solids and they do not shoot again

30. Is calling “just a shot” the same as calling “safety”? No



